Big Bash League

Big Bash League


The Big Bash League is Australia’s premier domestic Twenty20 cricket competition that began in 2011.

The Big Bash League features eight city-based teams from the capital cities of each of the six Australian states, with both Sydney and Melbourne having two teams each.

The inaugural Big Bash League was won by Sydney Sixers, who recorded a seven-wicket win over Perth Scorchers at the WACA Ground. Brisbane Heat won the second edition of the Big Bash League in the 2012/13 season, with Perch Scorchers again runners-up in in a 34-run loss at the WACA Ground.

The fifth season of the Big Bash League will commence on Thursday, 17 December 2015 with eight rounds played throughout December and January before the top four play the semi-finals on January 21 and 22. The Big Final will take place on Sunday, 24 January 2016.

Full Big Bash League Fixture List

The eight teams that will feature in the inaugural season of the Big Bash League are:

Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers,Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Similar to the Indian Premier League, each team has a private ownership model and is able to sign up to 18 players, unrestricted by traditional state-defined boundaries that other Australian domestic cricket competitions have, with each side also able to sign two overseas-based players on their roster.